Perspective…

January 18, 2010

Every now and then something happens in your life or in the world that puts things into perspective. It could be a health scare, a death in the family, a near accident, an argument with a loved one, or, in the case of last week, an earth shattering natural disaster leaving millions homeless and hundreds of thousands dead. Last Monday (pre-earthquake) I was in traffic, stuck behind an 80 year old dude who thought  it might be a good idea to head out  for a nice, slow, relaxing afternoon drive. I’m only guessing that’s what he was doing. He may have been ‘racing’ his elderly wife (lying in the back seat) to the hospital because her heartburn was intolerable. Anyway, what I’m getting at is that at this point in my day it felt like I was the only person in the world experiencing the injustice of being stuck behind this guy. The next day a 7.0 earthquake rocked the country of Haiti. Makes you feel pretty shitty. REALLY shitty. About lots of stuff. Kevin sometimes teases me about wanting to move back to Manitoba after living in the Caribbean for 4 years. I point out to him that no tsunami, no earthquake, no hurricane, no terrorists, will ever strike in this part of the world. Our winters are beyond cold (though this one’s been more than bearable) and our mosquitoes in summer are so serious I’m pretty sure there are subspecies evolving each year, but we are beyond lucky!  I digress. Whenever one of those trivial things (like bad drivers, rude people, back talking spawn, a husband how leaves his underwear on the bathroom floor every morning) is bothering me I’m just going to whisper ‘Haiti’ to myself. Perspective. It’ll give me the perspective I need to realize it could always be worse. Much, much, MUCH worse. To donate to the cause click here.

2 Responses to “Perspective…”

  1. Jenn :) Says:

    Yay for another blog to follow!! Nice post Jody – it’s always nice to be reminded to keep things in perspective. Pick you battles. Be thankful for what we have. We are so blessed!

    Looking forward to reading your blog! Not sure I am witty or creative enough to keep up with one!!

    Jenn

  2. Brandee Says:

    Great blog and you said it about putting things into perspective! Looking forward to reading more and your humour on things!


Leave a Reply

